GET SPICY DETAILS DAILY!

GET EXCLUSIVES!

SB-FAN SB-INT SB-plast1SB-term

FRESH NEWS

WHAT’S HOT!

Korean Phrase of the Week #1


Starting from today, I am going to post a Korean phrase of the week. Every Wednesday will be a Korean Phrase Day, cool, right? ๐Ÿ™‚ I will be posting a Korean phrase, then explaining what does the phrase mean and where did I get it from. I hope you enjoy these upcoming KPOTW (Korean Phrase of the Week) articles. I am going to bring those phrases from various dramas like Dream High, My Princess, Paradise Ranch, and other new movies. If you want a certain drama other than those, please let me know in the comment section below. Who knows maybe the next KPOTW will be for you, but if no one tells me ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ย then every week I will be choosing a drama and taking a phrase from then share it with you guys.

As for the phrase for this week… ย it is โ€œAigoo, Chamโ€. The phrase means like โ€œOh my god, are you kidding me? / Oh my lord, are you serious?โ€

It has many meaning depending on the situations. Koreans say it when they canโ€™t believe that something is happening at that moment. Plus doesn’t everyone say like “Oh my god” or these kind of phrases after something bad or good happens to them? I think the answer is yes.

For example, for those who watch My Princess drama,

Song Seung-Hun who is acting Park Hae-Young always say “Aigoo, Cham” toย Kim Tae-Hee who is acting Lee Seol. There was many, and way many times when he said it. Everyone knows him now as The โ€œAigoo, Chamโ€ guy. When I counted, he said it 14 times in episode 7 & 8. It is really funny how he says it so casually.

Do you think that he says it in his daily life?

63 Comments on “Korean Phrase of the Week #1”

  1. moonylove says:

    ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Tiny says:

    i like this

  3. daracanela says:

    I like this new post ๐Ÿ™‚ I Think Kim Hyun Joong said it to on ep 2 of Playful Kiss/Mischievous Kiss

  4. amethyst says:

    i like this!
    i hope you can post a phrase from secret garden ^_^

  5. Mitzie says:

    I like KPOTW! Keep it up! =)

  6. SuperJuniorLover6666666666 says:

    Well, ์•„์ด๊ตฌ ์ฐธ doesn’t always mean “oh my god, are u kidding me?”…
    There are several different meanings when u say that phrase.

    Just saying….

  7. Sooj says:

    Sounds AWESOMEE!! funny i’m watching those three drama’s too ๐Ÿ™‚ AIGOO CHAM ๐Ÿ˜›

  8. I love ? says:

    I like this idea and you should do one from Secret Garden even though it ended ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. zoee says:

    Great idea ๐Ÿ˜€

  10. hot2bme1 says:

    maybe perhap next time you should write the phrase in korean, then romans bc maybe the ones who actually want to learn something will have a reference.

    • kv says:

      definately not hating or anything but i dnt think riting in korean is a good idea b/cuz alot of my asian friends can only understand and speak their language
      (if they cant even rite in their own language i dnt think we shuld even try learning it [also cuz i’m lazy] :P)
      although it would be good for those who want to learn how to rite as well, many ppl here probably just want to be able to understand the dramas they’re watching!!!
      plz dnt bash me me with craziness i’m only saying wat i’m thinkin and hoping that what i’m thinkin is making sense!!! ๐Ÿ˜›
      wow now dat i read my own comment it seems quite confusing!! good luck understanding me!! tehe ๐Ÿ˜›

  11. pru says:

    This is a good Idea!… looking forward to the next Phrase!

  12. walastek says:

    Pretty cool…I like this. Fun way of learning the Korean language. =)

  13. So Young says:

    yay but can we get some hard stuff to impress people? i mean EVERYONE uses this term
    anyways thanks for the phrase of the weekk

  14. kv says:

    would love to see some phrases from dream high or all my love if your watching it by any chance!!! its hilarious!! ๐Ÿ˜€

  15. Yuhee says:

    Yes I would love to see the things you came up.Im looking forward to it:)

    SARANGHAEYO!

  16. strawberryfieldsforever says:

    nice! korean phrase every week would be nice ๐Ÿ˜€

  17. FINALBOSS says:

    Dear Popseoul,

    It seems as though you’ve come up with a rather clever idea. The Internet approves.

    Sincerely,

    FINALBOSS

  18. fuckJAPS says:

    translation- WHAT THE FUCK? SHIT.

  19. HappyLyn says:

    That’s great! Your idea is original, exciting, & educational for us who wants to know more about Korean language & lovers of Korean dramas! Good job!!! Mabuhay!!!

    • Sausages says:

      Mabuhay? Is that what you korean worshippers say these days?

      Aren’t you supposed to suppress your usage of your own language and say words like ‘saranghae’? I think you need to try harder at being a k-slave.

  20. doug says:

    Someone in this thread is a Pabo.

    • Sausages says:

      Most people in this thread are vietindomalaypinays trying to get imported into korea by a korean farmer who cannot get a bride because all korean women marry americans.

      Let’s watch you all try to learn korean like good little k-slaves though.

  21. mabjor says:

    I am totally agree with HappyLyn’s commet. May I suggest you to include Korean writing as well. Thanks.

  22. ifat3 says:

    this is a great idea – thanks ๐Ÿ™‚

  23. EmmyJ says:

    Love this idea!
    Thank you..

  24. Lorni says:

    Cool… Let’s do this!!!

  25. careco says:

    This will count one of your best feature here. Seriously. ^.^

  26. cdnpoint says:

    Dream High characters have been saying Aigoo–wasn’t sure if it meant darn, oh, or something else entirely.

    Looking forward to the next phrase! Like your phrase of the week idea. ๐Ÿ™‚

  27. Dovey says:

    Nice thing you have coming. Will look forward to these each week. ^^

  28. ROSARIO RONDINELL says:

    ah jin jja jae mi suh !
    sorry i don’t have hangul at work so i have to use konglish kkk
    looking forward to this new and creative idea. good work su gu hae suh !

  29. Stacia says:

    I think im going to be learning a lot from here ^^

  30. JJ07 says:

    haha that’s a great idea. lol what song sung hyun says is kinda cute too hehe XD aigoo, cham.

  31. dee;) says:

    yay! keep it up!!

  32. Yuhee says:

    I really like this idea:)
    Keep it going:)

    XOXO Yuhee

  33. Sweetsmilez says:

    whoap!!!…i truly luvs tis idea…
    it will work out….


Leave a Reply

