GET SPICY DETAILS DAILY!

GET EXCLUSIVES!

SB-FAN SB-INT SB-plast1SB-term

FRESH NEWS

WHAT’S HOT!

Dream High’s Kim Soo-hyun Was Nervous Amongst Idols


The young 23-year-old actor, Kim Soo-hyun, recently had two interviews with Osen and My Daily, in which he talked about “Dream High,” working with idols, and his ideal type of girl. Would it happen to include co-stars IU or Suzy?Even up until “Dream High,” the actor gained recognition playing juvenile characters, namely the young version of Go Soo‘s character in “Will It Snow for Christmas?” and also for Park Sang-min‘s character in “Giant.”

However, in “Dream High” Kim Soo-hyun showed off his ability as an actor in a leading role, with fans identifying the fresh-faced actor as a “star.” Even amongst idol stars, Kim Soo-hyun was found to shine brightly.

“Popularity? You can’t even compare to the past. Just walking around, people recognize me, ‘It’s Song Sam-dong.’ Gaining popularity is good and all, but it’s also scary. I guess I just have to do better than that.”

Kim Soo-hyun got more from “Dream High” than just popularity. Working with idol stars, IU, Suzy, Taecyeon, Wooyoung, and Eun-jung, the actor gained a sincere camaraderie with this co-stars. Though it was difficult at first to mix well with the idol stars, after a few months of working together, they were all able to share a close friendship.

“At first, it was scary. It seemed like I should just leave [the group]. Amongst a group of idol stars, because I was the odd man out, it was like I didn’t even exist. ‘I could just be buried by them,’ I was worried and felt a lot of burdens. But, that useless and vain worry was quickly broken. They all really opened up to me, and we mutually bonded, and I was accepted into the group. I really liked that we naturally bonded like that. As I’m the same age as Taecyeon and Eun-jung, we were able to become really comfortable without any hesitation, and I also quickly became close to my dongsaengs Suzy, IU, and Woo-young. Though they are all quite young, we got along like old friends. If just one of them would laugh and be excited, we would all start being excited about filming, as though we didn’t know it was hard. The drama is over now, but even now, we all keep in contact and stay close. Between us, we say “We’re one family,’ but I really do get the feeling of family with these friends.”

Different from the singers, Kim Soo-hyun really had to start from scratch and learn step-by-step, while practicing dancing and singing. The young actor really showed his diligence, having to work harder than the others in order to come off as talented in the musical performing arts.

“I always enjoyed singing with a lot of interest. Before entering the drama, I trained in the JYP practice room for over 3 months. Because I’ve never done dancing before, it was that much harder. In relation to dancing, no one told me anything, but I was becoming disheartened on my own. I was surprised by how daunting it is to perform [dance]. At that time, Taecyeon and Woo-young really helped me  a lot. They’re friends I’m really thankful for.”

Kim Soo-hyun also recorded for the “Dream High” OST “Dreaming,” which is still high on music charts.

“It seems like people like ‘Dreaming’ more for the meaning of the song rather than my singing ability. It’s really amazing to me that a lot of people helped me to come out with a song while doing ‘Dream High.’ I had the thought, ‘Ah, so this is what it’s like to be a singer,’ and really liked that feeling. A singer? Doing activities as a ‘singer’ scares me a lot. In the future, as time goes on, I’m not sure how things with turn out. More than becoming a singer, I want to sing for events for the ‘Dream High’ OST and things like that.”

Kim Soo-hyun’s character Song Sam-dong had many sides, singing and dancing well, waiting for Hye-mi, while dealing with his own personal problems that arose throughout the story, the young actor really showed a high quality of acting.

“When I act, I really want to come off as a ‘person.’ It’s that I want to give real feeling in acting. In order to have real-emotion acting, when I have time, I want to have a lot of life experience, because in order to act at that level, life experience is important. I want to become an actor that people have confidence can give good acting and gain support [by doing so]. With ‘Dream High,’ it seems like I gained an excellent stepping stone, so I’m happy. Real-emotion acting and giving that kind of role, with that I could really live happily. In the future, I will try to continue to keep to that quality.”

We look forward to seeing more real-emotion acting from Kim Soo-hyun in the future.

The Osen interview also had more to uncover about this young actor.

During the filming of “Dream High,” Kim Soo-hyun always avoiding answering the question, “Amongst the female idols in the cast, who would you choose as your ideal type?” Perhaps he can answer that question now that filming has finished…

“Haha, if you’re asking that kind of question, then in spring, I like Eun-jung. In summer, I like Suzy, and in fall, I like IU… I would answer in that way. Now… it’s hard to say, because ‘Dream High’ will be released in Japan, and I have to go to promotions with them and sing with them.. If it’s like that then I probably won’t have any more work coming to me from JYP as a producer… Haha. As it’s like that, I like Miss A the best!”

Q: You seem to have a bold and cheerful personality. Have you given any thought to doing variety programs?

“It seems that the variety shows would be approaching the ‘real person’ Kim Soo-hyun, not acting. In front of fans, not acting but showing the real Kim Soo-hyun makes me feel uneasy and honestly frightened. I’m still uncertain [about doing variety programs].”

Q: There’s a lot of talk that you’re getting a lot of offers these days. What will you do next?

“When I think of that on my own, I think I’m in a vague time. I’m not quite like a little boy, and not like a man either. It feels like I’m at that boundary. I want to do a role that fits this kind of time. Now to me, this adolescent period of not a boy not a man, is the most fascinating. A character that can deliver the highest amount of that kind of charm would be nice.”

Q: And, in “Dream High” Song Sam-dong is kind of a child-like character, compared to his age.

“True. I heard that on the outside, the face is young but the voice at first shows some age… Personally, I came into conflicts with that kind of half-n-half feeling but now I like it. Sam-dong also is like that. If you look at it in a way, he was innocent and a little stupid, but at certain moments, he was quite manly.”

Kim Soo-hyun seems ready to become a mature actor, but hopefully we can see him in more “Sam-dong” type roles in the future.


29 Comments on “Dream High’s Kim Soo-hyun Was Nervous Amongst Idols”

  1. hale luana says:

    He’s the best actor among the young cast….and he proves it since it’s his first singing and dancing role besides acting. I’ve seen him in other dramas and was impressed…. He’ll just continue to be better and better. The others seem to be more like playing themselves in how they are in real life, so it’s hard to judge their acting ability.

  2. Div says:

    I like him and he is cool

  3. beauty.P says:

    well..he’s able to be a great actor in the future! 🙂 wish him all the best whether in acting or singing~

  4. Gauri says:

    i love this guy!!! he’s a brilliant actor and will do very well because he just has the acting chops required to do anything and come off as convincing….
    can’t wait for more dramas and movies from his side!!! i hope he plays something like a con-man or a thief or a playboy next…tht will b very interesting to watch…and he did say he wanted these kind of roles….

  5. Kaybee says:

    One of the finest actor of the new generation I saw so far. I noticed him since ‘Will it snow in Christmas’…He is quite effective. He will go far….

  6. jasmine says:

    it sure looks like he gained an excellent stepping stone as dream high cast ~
    soo hyun is so talented and cute :3

  7. osarin says:

    Love him in all of his drama (except kimchi smile cause haven’t see it). It will be interesting to see him doing some variety programs such as strong heart and running man. Too bad he is afraid to do it cause it will disrupt his current image…..:(

  8. Jules says:

    its so cool how he was able to do the accent thing altho he doesn’t really hav one…

  9. Chika says:

    i can’t believe that Kim Soo Hyun can’t dance before. he’s really really good actor. standing ovation for you my idol 😀

  10. sush says:

    dream high is the only korean drama I have liked till date. I really liked all the characters. So I’m looking forward to season two. Hope they will take kim soo hyun and suzy in lead role.love you guys!! Muhha

  11. may says:

    I like Dream High movie.
    You are so cute.
    Please replied me message.
    Good Luck!

  12. joanna says:

    dream high is one of the best Korean drama that I’ve watched.. i loved each character they portrayed for they have justified their own characters…they are all talented…but whom i loved the most is song sam dong (kim soo hyun)…his acting skills is superb and his voice is very nice…his dancing skills is good as well…and i fell in love with his character..i’ve laughed and cried because of him…which just simply means that he is a brilliant actor…the best….i really hope that they will have a part two for this…;-)

  13. X-Tina says:

    Lihat dream high benar benar mengesankan.pemainnya ok2 dan lagi suaranya bagus2.gw langsung jatuh cinta sama pemainnya,kim soo hyun,apalagi pas dia nyanyi lagu dreaming.semoga ada lanjutannya dream high 2,dan yang main tetap sama.all the best for dream high.

  14. pooja Ghale says:

    I really enjoyed this drama (Dream High).music and lyrics was great and top of that i liked you performance too. From the starting of drama actually from the drama Will it snow at Christmas? i really preferred act of Kim soo Hyun .Hope to see you in doing great inm future too and m waiiting for your next rocking performance as singer and definitely as an actor too…God will bless you and we love you……

  15. mongolia jineee says:

    xaxaxaxax kim soo hoorhonb umaaa beautiful t1 solongoschuud xaxaxxaxa sonogtun

  16. mongolia jineee says:

    jinee98

  17. eve allen arandia says:

    Song Sam Dong!!! hahhaah saranghaeyeo!! lol:))

  18. hesti..nie^^ Indonesia says:

    he is a very talented actor coz i could see that he always do the best 4 his drama. in DH he practised dancing n singing 2 n it turned out well coz he looked like a real idol star^^

  19. reffi yhuana says:

    actually, one thing that i really like to kim soo hyun is he has a big motivation in himself, he tries to do the best in acting, singing and dancing.
    thank you to kim soo hyun, you give the best for us, your fans =). .

  20. marybrium says:

    i like him so much……….

  21. Tsering says:

    Kim Soo Hyun’s character Sam Dong is the best part abt the series ‘Dream High’. He really left a mark with his acting and singing. He is just too adorable..and from the interviews that I have read, he seems like a down to earth and hardworking person. Hope to see him in many other series and movies too.. Kim Soo Hyun fighting !!!

  22. d_rav07 says:

    song sam dong nado saranghaeyo

  23. Dhea says:

    kamu keren abies

  24. Iejam says:

    I also give Soo hyun 10/10 stars for his acting in Dream High… As if we compared him with the others, Soo Hyun greatly deliver the role and I do love Sam Dong’ character. He’s the best !!!! Go Soo Hyun… can’t wait you in another drama after this…

  25. regi says:

    wauw…………………….. I love you Kim Soo Hyun


Leave a Reply

