GET SPICY DETAILS DAILY!

GET EXCLUSIVES!

SB-FAN SB-INT SB-plast1SB-term

FRESH NEWS

WHAT’S HOT!

POPSEOUL! Exclusive Interview with G-Soul


gsoul3_20080225_popseoul.jpg

After JYP’s mic hogging press conference, the POPSEOUL! sisters had the opportunity to sneak into the green room to hang out with the JYP troop and what a pleasant surprise it was!

During the press conference, we were very doubtful of G-Soul’s English abilities, since JYP did all the talking for him, but G-Soul proved himself by conversing with us in English. From our short interaction, it seemed like G-Soul is genuinely nice but shy singer. On a more superficial level, it was pretty clear that he didn’t have the looks or the height to make fans droll over their keyboards. Hopefully he’ll make us look beyond his looks with his talent.

Tell us about your typical day. Do you have a routine you stick to?

These days I’m busy pretty much all day preparing for the concert and getting my album started. But usually my typical day involves school, vocal and music training, and working out at the gym.

Was it hard to get adjusted to living in the states? What’s the biggest difference you notice between Korea and US and what do you like about each place?

Korea is my home and I miss it a lot, but I don’t think it was that hard for me to adjust to the states. I think I adjusted real good to the states because I’ve loved American culture and R&B/Soul music all my life.

I think the biggest difference for me is that there’s more musical freedom in the states compared to Korea. I can do the style of music I love and that I’m good at, instead of just doing ballads or the pop styles popular in Korea.

What is your biggest weakness? Strengths?

I think my biggest strength is my faith in myself and in my music. I’ve always had faith that I can train and work hard on my music and make the best music I can possibly make. My biggest weakness is that I can be impatient and lazy sometimes.

Tell us more about your album. What’s the concept?

So far, I’ve only done about a couple songs, so I kind of want to keep it on the DL.

It’s really hard for Asian artists to make it in the US, what are you expectations and how do you think you can overcome the challenges?

I think it was hard for Asian artists to make it in the US because they were produced by American producers who really didn’t understand the Asian artist and where they were coming from. But this time, I think I’ll have music that fits me very well.

I think that America has opened up to the world and that Americans are much more open to Asian and other cultures than before, so I feel very fortunate.

Are you friends with any of the other JYP artists?

I’ve gotten really close with Min and Jeong Hee since living and training together in New York. We’ve been through so much together and it’s really brought us close. I’ve also learned a lot from Jeong Hee because she’s an experienced artist and is such a talented singer and musician. And I’m really good friends with the Wonder Girls and the trainees in the US and Korea.

Are you excited about the concert? How many songs are you going to perform? How was it working with the Boys Choir of Harlem?

I’m really excited about performing at MSG. It’ll be the biggest stage I’ve ever been on in the states. For now 2 songs, but I could have more. It was a great honor to work with the choir. It was a great experience and I learned a lot from them, and not just musically.

You said you sang Gospel when you were younger. How did you decide to switch to Soul?

I never really switched to Soul. Even though I sing more Soul and R&B, I still love singing Gospel and try to as much as I can.

How do you feel about working with R.Kelly?

I’m very excited and feel very honored to have the opportunity to work with R. Kelly. I never imagined in my life that I’d be able to work with the biggest R&B singer of all time, and of course he is one of my favorite artists. and I’m gonna use this chance to make the best music I can.

Questions from POPSEOUL! Readers

Did you felt discriminated at all? What was it like to be a singer from Korea trying to break into the US music industry? (teukixhearts)

I think people in the states stereotype me and don’t expect an Asian guy like me to sing R&B and Soul very well, but this just gives me more drive to train harder. I’ve always practiced American R&B and Soul music, so I consider trying to break into the US music industry a chance to do the music I’ve always done and loved.

Will you ever or think about making a Korean album in the future? (uhhhhhoooo)

I will definitely do some Korean albums after my debut in the States.

Is there anything you two will develop into your music that will distinguish you as an Asian singer? Or will you continue to sing the style you currently sing w/o much Asian influence?? (nickie)

I consider myself as an R&B singer, not as an Asian R&B singer. So I’m going to try to do be myself and do the music I’ve loved and grown up with. And since I’m a unique person, as long as I just try to be myself, I believe there’ll be something unique in my music and I’ll be able to express my own unique style.

Since you are debuting in the U.S., who are the celebrities that you are eager to meet and/or even collaborate with ? (eggtaart ~)

I would love to work with classic US artists like Stevie Wonder, as well as newer artists like Keyshia Cole and J. Holliday, but for now I’m just happy to have the chance to work with R. Kelly.

What is your fav song that you have sung? (cherrie)

The favorite song that I’ve sung is a soul classic called “A Song For You” by Donny Hathaway.

We would like to thank G-Soul for agreeing to do this interview and our POPSEOUL! readers for participating in the interview.

Stay tuned for POPSEOUL!’s Exclusive Interview with Min.

Pop in:
POPSEOUL! Exclusive Q&A with JYP

POPSEOUL! meets the JYP Troop
JYP hoggs the mike at the press conference


94 Comments on “POPSEOUL! Exclusive Interview with G-Soul”

  1. teukixhearts says:

    Wow, im impressed with G-souls response. he took it like a professional. i cant wait to hear from them but i guess he only has a few songs? Well, atleast Min is finishing up her album. oh and btw, working with R. Kelly, is like huge. not only to them, but to a lot of aspiring singers out there. and also with Lil John, hes pretty big too. His latest work, i think, is with chris brown ”kiss kiss” and that was a number 1 hit, if im correct. and hes also doing some work on Mariah Careys new album, which i cant wait for! so i say good for them! and J Lim too!

  2. Dumpling says:

    To Annie:

    See note above.

    Dumb-ass.

  3. Taejus says:

    ReFrAiN!!~~~:

    WHY CAN’T WE BE FREEEEEEEINDS!!~~~

    WHY CAN’T WE BE FREEEEEEEINDS!!~~~

    WHY CAN’T WE BE FREEEEEEEINDS!!~~~

    Oh Yeah~~

    BABY!!!

  4. danny says:

    dumpling’s response:

    “He wants to keep it on the “DL”. Stop with the black slang!! And he’s HONORED to work with R. Kelly?

    Pathetic. I stopped reading after the R. Kelly part. I cannot stomach it.”

    I’m not trying to start some futile online argument with you, but really, R.Kelly, beyond his personal issues with the law, he is a fantastic artist. I’m sure you have listened to some of his songs, and he’s a world renown singer, breaking cultural barriers to make him so famous. Why you can’t stomach this, I really don’t understand, but then again, you probably can’t look at him past his domestic issues. and by the way, the abbreviation ‘DL’, why make such fuss over him using that word? That word is mainstream like other ‘black slang’ that refer to it as. Don’t tell me you don’t use words like ‘yo’ as a part of your daily vocabulary. Quit the notion that you such artist like g.soul is inferior to you because of these things.

  5. Um... says:

    @Dumpling:
    No one said you used the word ghetto. It was you use of the phrase “black slang” that I pointed out.

    Stop trying to defend your ignorance.

  6. popseoul says:

    just to clarify –

    G-soul’s interview was held in English and we did not clean anything up for him.

    Like i said before, g-soul’s English is okay. He’s just shy.

  7. KanginsFutureGF says:

    can’t wait for interview with min!

  8. Ohnoes says:

    yay G im so happy for him cant wait for his debut he has all my support he should know that lol

    I hope that he does well wish I could go to the concert but im a poor high school student T_T haha

  9. Roxanne says:

    Honestly, ignoring R.Kelly’s past crimes R.Kelly has made some great songs. I’m assuming the only songs that people heard from him is “I Believe I can Fly”, “Fiesta” and the retarded “Trapped in the Closet” 20 chapters. I suggest you guys give his early 90’s music a listen. Although, R.Kelly is not the greatest RnB singer when you have people such as Whitney Houston, Aretha Franklin, Diana Ross etc.

    Going back on Topic…

    I really do wish these artist the best in trying to break into the American market. However I think that JYP should be telling them the truth that “It woun’t be easy”. JYP may be a good producer in Korea but America is a whole other ball game. I don’t think race is such a huge factor. Although the sterotype will always be apparent, they should turn that negative impact into something positive. As they could be opening the doors for other Asian entertainers. Race isn’t that big of an issue how about Jin (chinese) rapper that started off by rapping on BET’s 106 & Park on Freestyle Fridays and from there he was signed a deal with Ruff Ryders. Race may be a problem at some point but turn it into something positive.

    Whatever this is just my opinion. I’ve all the commments above mine and everyone had great points.

  10. Dumpling says:

    “ignoring R.Kelly’s past crimes”

    Is it really that easy for you?? How sad. What exactly would a person have to do that would warrant their “past crimes” not being “ignored”? Murder? Or would you be able to ignore that too if the music was good enough?

    I will never get tired of saying this: R. Kelly had sex with a 15 year old girl (this is RAPE) and urinated on her (which makes him a MONSTER because no decent human being would urinate on a dog much less a human being), and filmed it all so he should show to his disgusting friends. Why this man isn’t in jail yet is beyond me. And how you people can sit there and defend that which is indefensible in the name of a few stupid songs is mind-boggling to me. R. Kelly is a worthless piece of sh*t. I don’t care if he found the cure for cancer.

  11. Dumpling says:

    @ Um

    You associated the use of the word “ghetto” with me when I used the word “slang”. Yes, you did. Check yourself. Then again, don’t bother. You’re not smart enough to keep up with me. Also, don’t dare associate the use of “ghetto” with both blacks and Jews. Jews were put into ghettos to quarantine them off from the non-Jewish population in order to organize them for extermination. Blacks TOOK the word “ghetto” and applied it to their own living situation. Blacks don’t live in ghettos and they never have. They may live in *poor* neighborhoods but they do not live in ghettos. There are also whites and hispanics who live in extremely poor environments but they do NOT refer to them as “ghettos”. So why do blacks?? They may be perfectly fine applying that word to themselves, but I’m not.

  12. Meru says:

    ghet·to /ˈgɛtoʊ/ Pronunciation Key – Show Spelled Pronunciation[get-oh] Pronunciation Key – Show IPA Pronunciation
    –noun, plural -tos, -toes.
    1. a section of a city, esp. a thickly populated slum area, inhabited predominantly by members of an ethnic or other minority group, often as a result of social or economic restrictions, pressures, or hardships.
    2. (formerly, in most European countries) a section of a city in which all Jews were required to live.

    I can’t stand it when ignorant people refuse to educate themselves.

  13. danny says:

    for dumpling.

    wow, where do i begin? fellow repliers and myself never approved of R. Kelly’s domestic affairs like the sex scandal with an underage female. we’re talking about his MUSIC. there is more to identity than just racial, political, sociological ties. in this case, we’re talking about R. Kelly as a successful, well known artist who is now trying to bring G Soul into the American mainstream. Michael Jackson is loved by millions of fans across the world, not because of the fact he has potentially done acts of pedophilia in the past. People do not refer to Mike Tyson as one of the greatest boxers of all time because of his psychological issues- it was his talent.

    It is this line that we must consider, dumpling. That while you may look at R. Kelly as sex offender first, then music artist second, is fine. But because we are talking about g-soul, we of course must refer to R. Kelly as the artist, one who has successfully worked his craft into something that millions appreciate. While people can’t and should NOT forget that he is a sagitory rapist, we must consider his musical ability and how he is part of g-soul’s project.

    realistically, isn’t this what all people go through? Different people remember us for different things, some good, some bad. Albert Einstein helped create the atom bomb. The prophet Muhammad went on caravan raids. Michael Jordan had an affair and gambling issue. Many celebrities drink, sleep with other people, break laws all the time. But regardless, we refer to these people as influential. To this extent, we hold these people to their craft, their ability.
    Please consider this.

    Secondly, today’s generation refer to ‘slang’ as ghetto talk. While the comment did not say such word, there are implications to it. To say your are not smart to keep up to another person, what is the point of that? There is nothing productive about it. I’m pretty sure the replier didn’t even consider ghettos in terms of Jewish impoverished communities. And to finally arrive in a tangent where you believe that ‘ghettos’ these days that these ‘black people’ live in is mind-boggling and completely ignorant. If you want to argue about this, I’m definitely willing to state my point, but I think this post is way too long for that.

  14. kylie says:

    @ teukixhearts

    Ummm, I believe Chris Brown’s song was done with T-pain, not lil’ jon… 🙂

  15. All of you guys know so many things about these celebz. Are you guys stalkers. I mean a lot of things about some of the celebs, but, I don’t know everything about them.

  16. May says:

    haha. Dumpling got offended.

  17. Um... says:

    @Dumpling

    I never said you used the word ghetto. I’m telling you that’s where slang originated. Do not generalize blacks saying that they took the word ghetto and applied it to their living situation. If you look at Meru’s definition you’ll realize that it is not the case.

    Basically, my main issue with your comment was that you used the term “black slang” as if the phrase “dl” belongs to black people, as if all black people speak in this way. Don’t generalize an entire race based on your limited knowledge. Not all blacks live in the ghetto, I never said that. Once again, look at Meru’s definition and you will clearly see that you’re wrong. Being black myself I’m just offended that you throw all blacks into your broad generalizations. We don’t all speak “slang” I for one have never said “dl” and I don’t live in a ghetto. I don’t know if your black or not, and it doesn’t matter but you really need to realize that someone’s race doesn’t assign certain actions, or ways of speaking to a person. And by using the term “black slang” that’s exactly what you’re doing.

  18. penguin_x3 says:

    dude…I think everyone here is racist!… slang or no slang, its just a freakin phrase everybody uses when they don’t want to say the whole word, just like texting!! it is all the rave in the US right now, like OMG, WTF, BRB, TTYL LOL, etc…

    anyway, go g-soul!! I have high hopes for you, even though people say your short and ugly, I still think you’re really cute and talented!! =) One day we shall meet *wink*

    ps…wasn’t ghetto first used for the Jewish people, when they were compelled to live under the Venetian Republic, in Italy? So I don’t think that it should be a ‘black slang’ just because most african americans in this world use it so much…I give full copy right to Italy, because it comes from Venentian language! SO THERE, lets stop talking about racism, just because GSoul said “DL” which one one in this freakin world uses anymore…

    Also, IF there is a ‘black slang’ and a ‘white slang’ then is there an ‘Asian slang’? a stupid question, but we must ask ourselves that ehh? it just means there’s no freakin race slang in this world, it’s just words that everyday people use

  19. pootcha says:

    Although his language skills has improved, I still don’t think that congratulations are in order.

    For various reasons, I think the interview was dead on the water. First, G Soul failed miserably in creating a buzz about himself and his music. The purpose of press conferences is to sell yourself to the public. He should have taken this opportunity to make an impression to his target audience by leaving them excited and wanting to buy his album.

    Second, he should have taken this chance in correcting JYP regarding his comment that he picks people by passion and attitude and not by talent. In failing to address this issue, it seems that he is agreeing with his management company’s statement about its trainees’ lack of talent. And as a trainee of JYP’s company, by default, he doesn’t have talent. Poor G Soul he just handled himself to his detractors on a silver platter.

    Third, if he thinks that R. Kelly will help his fledging music career in the US by invoking him as the greatest R&B singer, he should think again. I am fully aware that G Soul is stating it as preference and not supported by facts but, for his career’s sake, he should stop it.

    I know there is more to R. Kelly than his domestic affairs. Ideally, we should learn to separate an individual’s personal from professional life. But, sad to say, the America that I live at is far from that. Take Michael Jackson as an example-during the recording of ‘We are the World” a lot of people are praising him for his talent both as a performer and as a composer. But after the scandals, nobody wants to be associated with him for now.

    Luckily, I also believe in second chances, and Mr. Kelly must be afforded one as well just like the many celebrities who have done stupid things in the past. But, America, with regards to R Kelly, is not yet ready to do so. So, for the meantime, G Soul stands alone.

    Finally, we all need to step back and examine the situation. The concept of reality and truth is hard to grasp but no matter how harsh it maybe, as X files puts it, it is out there.

  20. oo says:

    i’m tired of hearing jyp ppl saying stuff about how they have a better chance of breaking into the us market because their producer is jyp (isn’t american)……all they do is associate themselves with american singers tho. it’s them saying, I’m this american person’s protege, but no!! they aren’t gonna produce my music because i want to be different and have jyp, who’s music sounds just like any other american music, produce it so i can be different…ugh..

    other than that, good luck to him…

  21. blinkable says:

    whoa, senstive comments…O_o
    Anyway, seems like this G-Soul is quite good~eh? Maybe I will check him music out then 😉
    He looked so comfy and cozy with the WG XD

  22. igoRAWR says:

    WOAH
    if that was his actual english
    then he’s pretty good!

    wow.
    i wonder…
    did you interview wg in english? XD

  23. gossip girl says:

    wow, so many read ur interview popseoul. i can see lots of ppl dislike jyp n min already here, so it seems like there’s not much hope for them.

  24. Curious says:

    Why do people even respond to Dumpling? I learned a while back he or she is a small minded idiot.

  25. teukixhearts says:

    to kylie:

    lol i knew i wasnt sure who produced it! thanks for letting me know. :]

  26. Taejus says:

    i’ll just… yeah. But still i hope G- soul makes it.

    ^^ (even though he may not.)

    Prove ME WRONG!

  27. Angel4e says:

    Where are PopSeoul! sisters?! 😀

  28. christine says:

    From his answers he seems rather earnest and optimistic – I wish him all the best although it’s clearly going to be an uphill battle.

    As for origins of ‘DL’ – to clarify, it came from prison among African American inmates (regardless of class and economic standing) who would have sex with each other while incarcerated and then continue to sleep with each other when they were released out of prison unbeknownst to their respective families. Course then it was referred to as “down low” and popular culture shortened it to just ‘DL’.

  29. han says:

    are those girls from popseoul?

  30. tenretni says:

    wow, the “dl” talk is still going on?? who the hell cares cares?? he could speaka german slang, i still wouldn`t give a *bleep*… you guys need to step up the way you think…

    the interview was good… He should`ve acted like that during the press conference.. i can`t stand it when people are overly shy for no reason… Yes it may be in your nature, but when you are a singer you need to be upfront and show that confidence… and hiding behind a MR. Monkey isn`t the way… bleh

    They all have potential, but they need to be more confident about it… Show us what they have without holding back…

  31. blah says:

    @ Curious :

    i do learned it, LOL!!!

  32. varms says:

    I think he did terrific in this interview!!!

    All the best G-Soul!!!

    That “I like party” commennt was so LOL, haha…

    Jiayou!

  33. KanginsFutureGF says:

    seriously…
    why cant we all cooperate?

  34. gypsymm7 says:

    Lame! I can’t wait to see the disappointment.

  35. Emily says:

    Talent?
    EXCUSE ME??
    Popseoul, have you seen him perform at the ‘o7 end of the year YG Special Stage?
    I’m sorry, but no matter how “passionate” JYP wants his singers to be, it’s nothing without talent.
    To me, his singing sounds flat and empty -_-
    Maybe he’ll come back with a miraculous revival, though?
    I’m putting my bet on J-Lim.
    Min’s voice is too high and popish, and her clothes are always unfashionable and revealing -_-

  36. […] in: POPSEOUL! Exclusive Interview with G-Soul POPSEOUL! Exclusive Q&A with JYP POPSEOUL! meets the JYP Troop JYP hoggs the mike at the press […]

  37. Annie says:

    Shut the f*ck up dumpling. my comment wasn’t even directed at you. Idiot.

  38. kitty says:

    ~lim some shii. yall too annooooo about everything. whats up with you people just let them be.

  39. irees says:

    i have no idea why it’s wrong to say “DL”. pfft. i say it. i think he answered better than min to be honest. i really liked his answers, but i can’t say that he’ll be successful here in the states. i don’t think he has the appeal to do so.

  40. Khamela says:

    what the heck?? lol I hope I didn’t start this lol

  41. […] in: POPSEOUL! Exclusive Q&A with JYP POPSEOUL! meets the JYP Troop POPSEOUL! Exclusive Interview with G-Soul POPSEOUL! Exclusive Interview with […]

  42. riki says:

    though i have big hopes for the jyp troop g-soul just proved in this interview that they will fail just like all other asian singers. g-soul’s statement: “i am singing as an asian rnb singer but as an rnb singer”. doom. all the other asian singers who have come before leave out their heritage because they think that no one will accept it. wrong. what are asians successful in in american entertainment? martial art movies. isnt martial arts cultural? i could accept it from an american asian who changes their name and speech pattern to “fit in” but a guy who grew up in korea not showing love to his people? that will come off as flaw to the black community who are the majority of listeners in hip hop and rnb and this is comming from a black man. so dont follow the asian singers before who made the mistake of trying to be more american. be yourself which is a korean rnb singer who is doing an english album. so you have an accent. accents are sexy. you can speak another language which is also sexy. show the americans that french, italian and spanish are not the only beautiful, romantic sexy languages out there. someone had to be the first latin singer to cross over. look them, the ones who have succeeded like daddy yankee (who only raps in spanish) and jennifer lopez, selena, marc anthony. they infused english with their heritage and so should the jyp group. if they do that they will be embrassed with respect and looked at as trend setters instead of wannabes.

  43. […] in: POPSEOUL! Exclusive Interview with G-Soul POPSEOUL! Exclusive Q&A with JYP POPSEOUL! meets the JYP Troop JYP hoggs the mike at the press […]


Leave a comment